Explore Kyrgyzstan

Location and area

Kyrgyzstan is situated in the heart of Central Asia and most of the republic is in the Tian-Shan Mountain Range. The republic is bordered by Kazakhstan in the north and northeast, by China in the east and southeast, by Tajikistan in the south and southwest, by Uzbekistan in the west. The area of Kyrgyzstan is 198.5 thousand square kilometers.

The Tian-Shan and Pamiro-Alai Mountain Ranges cover 90% of the country. Kyrgyzstan is divided into seven administrative regions: Batken, Jalalabat, Issykkul, Naryn, Osh, Talas and Chui.

The capital of Kyrgyzstan is Bishkek, which is situated at the northern end of the Ala-Too Range, in the middle of the Chui Valley, at a height of 700 – 900 meters above sea level.

The majority of the population is Kyrgyz at 65%, Uzbek 13.9% and Russian 11.7%. The state language is Kyrgyz and Russian is the Official language and the language of international communication.

Find out more about Bishkek living, eating, entertainment and outside the bishkek

© 2016-2023 SEBA; School of Entrepreneurship and Business Administration; American University of Central Asia